Steering Share: Meet Claire V. Gordon

Steering Shares are an opportunity to find out more about the I&A Steering Committee. This post comes courtesy of our newest Steering Committee member, Claire V. Gordon. Other members currently on the I&A Steering Committee include: Elizabeth “Liz” Call, Holly Rose McGee, Danielle Simpkins, Caitlin Rizzo, Burkely Hermann, Jacqueline Devereaux, and Marissa Friedman.

1) What was your first experience working with archives?

I have always had a fascination with the materiality and meaning embodied in artifacts, so when I was given the chance to work directly with artifacts as a volunteer at the Autry National Center, it set the stage to becoming an archivist. Over time, after speaking to archivists in the museum and library sector, I decided to earn my MLIS and focus on archival theory. My first archival work was during my graduate studies at UCLA as an archival assistant for the Barbara and Willard Morgan Archive, processing Willard’s working papers, and Barbara’s prints and artwork.

 

2) What is an archival issue that means a lot to you? 

I believe that investing in and prioritizing the processing of under-represented and mis-represented archival materials should be work that is centered and supported by institutions and fellow professionals alike.

 

3) What do you hope to gain by being on the I&A Steering Committee? 

As an early career archivist, I look forward to learning from my colleagues about the nuanced issues that persist in the archives profession and having open-minded discussions about how to address them.

 

4) What can we find you doing outside of the archival profession? 

I am an avid hiker, and can often be found communing with local flora and fauna. I also enjoy creative expression through cooking, art and crochet.

Leave a Reply (Note: The Issues & Advocacy Roundtable is committed to providing a welcoming environment for everyone who participates in its online spaces. All comments must honor the SAA Code of Conduct: http://www2.archivists.org/statements/saa-code-of-conduct.)